About my blog…

I started this blog because I suffered a massive stroke caused by numerous cervical dissections at the age of 27 years old. My stroke occurred on June 27, 2016. Less than three years later, my fight and journey are far from over. Each day is filled with immense emotional and physical pain, more obstacles, but also the reminder of the successes I’ve achieved since this horrific tragedy. When this experience occurred, I had no idea what the future held. What I did know and continuously tell myself as a means of survival was, “I cannot change this awful tragedy that happened, but if I can help one person through my experience, then it was worth all the pain and suffering I have and will endure.” I still deeply believe these words, though it can be painfully hard on many days. However thus far, I’ve been presented with opportunities to speak, write, and share my experience with others. The responses have been overwhelming at times, but they also inspire me to keep sharing my journey with others in order to help as many people as i can. Whether you are also a stroke or cervical dissection survivor, a caregiver, someone living with another chronic illness, a healthcare provider, or simply someone who comes across my story, I believe you can learn something from my journey. The last few years have taught me numerous lessons about loss, grief, healthcare, love, life, and lots in between! ❤️Erin

Leave a comment